• WealthMinds.Tech
  • Posts
  • My Journey in Training a Model for Financial Pattern Recognition

My Journey in Training a Model for Financial Pattern Recognition

Demystifying the Training of Machine Learning Models

< README.md />

Greetings! Diving into the world of AI has been a fascinating journey so far; I’ll share the progress I’ve made so far.

Today’s content:

> Dev Byte: Developer News and Tools
> Demystifying the Training of Machine Learning Models
> Mindset Motivation

Let’s get started!

< STORY />
Step 1…. Training our Model

The journey has started, but the plane ✈️ hasn’t taken off yet. I wouldn’t even say we’ve made it past TSA. The goal is to train our AI to recognize chart patterns.

Local Chart Pattern Testing in VSCode

Two Paths Forward:

Pre-built models, we can build off of:
Like any good engineer, research is the first step in building a project. Find out what already exists and see if you can build on an existing implementation for your use case; this is my approach, and I discovered a few things.

  • Training a model takes time; you need hundreds, probably thousands of images to increase accuracy, and accuracy is important when money is involved.

  • Diversify the dataset: We must include various scenarios, angles, lighting conditions, and backgrounds to help the model generalize better.

  • Split the dataset: When training, we must divide data into training, validation, and test sets to monitor model performance, avoid overfitting, and evaluate generalization.

I’m utilizing a Stock Market Pattern Detection model in the above image. It is designed to detect various chart patterns in real-time stock market trading video data.

DIY Training:

This path involves curating photos across the web, preparing the data for use in machine learning, labeling those images, selecting a model, and finally training the model using the labeled dataset. Oh, and a lot of time. I’m using Roboflow to train my model; it took 3-4 hours to finish training a model with roughly 900 images.

Roboflow Training Page

I have been enjoying working with Roboflow so far. Their platform makes labeling, training, and deploying object detection applications simple. However, I have noticed that my model's accuracy is limited. While it could detect patterns for a specific chart style, it struggled to detect patterns when using a black background.

Roboflow Model Testing UI


Wrapping Up 🎉 

After one week of testing, I’m happy with my results. I have a knowledge gap when it comes to training AI, and recognizing this, I’ll spend more time with data preprocessing and data splitting before training my next model.

Assuming I stick to the first path, I’d be limited in the customization of training my model; I’ll need to discover how to modify the existing trained model, and I doubt I’d have access to the dataset used to train this AI.

What I like about Roboflow is its universe of open-source computer vision datasets. The downside to using the Roboflow platform is that I only get 3 opportunities to train my model before shelling out $250 /mo for its starter tier. If I upgrade, I get 10 training credits, plus 5 additional per month.

Understanding these two paths, I’m leaning towards a hybrid model; I’d like to leverage open-sourced datasets but find a more cost-effective way to train my AI. The research continues!

Which path do you think I should focus on? Let me know by replying to this email. 

Building a Chart Pattern Analyzer & The Educational Journey Ahead

🚀 The journey ahead for the WealthMinds.Tech series is a combination of education and empowerment. As we strive to develop a chart pattern analysis tool, we'll explore more advanced techniques, such as machine learning for pattern recognition, backtesting strategies, and integrating educational resources to create a comprehensive platform for software engineering and wealth mastery.

By following along on this journey and sharing our community with friends, you'll:

  • Gain a deeper understanding of chart patterns and machine learning

  • Be granted access to a powerful tool to aid your financial decision-making process.

  • Explore step-by-step resources to level up your software skills

  • Access knowledge and tools to make informed investment decisions

Join our community and contribute your insights to be part of a thrilling journey at the intersection of technology and finance.

➡️ Reply to this message or send me a direct message on X or Instagram to learn how you can contribute to our mission.

< MINDSET MOTIVATION />
It is About the Hunt

The journey is just as important as the destination. The sweetness of achieving our goals is enhanced by the effort we put into getting there. Don't take my word for it, watch this motivational short by Eric Thomas.

Key mental takeaways 🧠 :

  • The path we take toward our goals is just as significant as the destination itself

  • The dedication and hard work we put in along the way add depth

  • By adding depth and complexity to our successes, we elevate them to a whole new level, one that is truly fulfilling.

< CLOSING />
About WealthMinds.Tech Newsletter

My newsletter offers valuable insights and perspectives on the intersection of software engineering and wealth building. From programming insights to wealth-building strategies, as we continue to pioneer technology, build wealth, and ignite minds, I invite you to stay connected with me through my newsletter. Stay tuned for our upcoming edition.

🌐 Pioneering Technology | 💰 Building Wealth | 🔥 Ignite Minds

Reply

or to participate.